me and my gadgets

1 05 2007

(c)

a question was posed by Yuga in his blog and he asked “Is technology slowly enslaving us?”

for the longest time ever, i always find myself with one gadget or another that i definitely cannot live without… back in college, all that i ever needed for school was my scientifc calculator… all the calculations that i need to do for my BS in Geodetic Engineering classes can be done by this small calculator, and my notes, if ever i need to jot them down, are in small pieces of paper borrowed/stolen from classmates and can be found in the nook and crannies of that calculator… it’s sort of a personal digital assistant [PDA], or at least, close to it…

then, i also had my taste of my first ever computer… an IBM PC-XT [who can remember those??] which had about 16K of memory, no hard disk, green monitors, and a cluinky [read: very big] keyboard… no mouse, yet, then… and all i used it for was to run Wordstar or Lotus 123 for the work i was doing with my uncle in his brokerage firm… as for communications, i was using those large bulky cellphone-types, much like what the military in the field was using… made my back ache lugging them around that’s why i threw them out the window after some time…

after graduating from college, my needs also graduated to more newer stuff… i basically got to use all kinds of PCs from the AT to the newest model today… as for cellphones, i got my first taste of a *really* portable lightweight cellphone in the late 90’s when then Bayantel offered me a Motorala phone for about P1750 a month, i think… i also graduated from that to Sony Ericsson T-series to newer ones K-series about 2 years ago…

as for other gadgets, i still have my Palm T5 which i cannot live without as it has my personal planner, datebook, hundreds of contacts, and several books in digital format i am reading at the moment… i have a portable USB card reader for my Pentax K100D dSLR camera, a set of rechargeable batteries with charger [opkors], a USB fan, a bluetooth earphone connecting to my SE K700i, several hundred charges and whatnot lying around the house, and a score of others i don’t know [or forgot] the use of… haaayyy…

and no, i am not a slave to my gadgets, though i definitely cannot live without them… 😀

Ciao, sweetie… 8)

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 05 2007
astigg.com

me and my gadgets by in retrospect……

for the longest time ever, i always find myself with one gadget or another that i definitely cannot live without… back in college, all that i ever needed for school was my scientifc calculator… all the calculations that i need to do for my BS in Ge…

1 05 2007

Leave a Reply

